NORMAN – Oklahoma Women’s Volleyball Head Coach Lindsey Gray Walton announced the 2022 non-conference volleyball schedule on Friday.

“We wanted to compile a well-balanced RPI non-conference schedule in preparation for a strong Big 12 conference slate this season,” Gray-Walton said. “Our 2022 opponents feature teams that have participated in the 2021 NCAA Tournament, have strong conference RPIs and winning percentages. Overall, the opportunities before us have the ability to create a road to December “

The Sooners open their 2022 slate with a team show Saturday, August 13 at McCasland Field House. OU plays its second exhibition to open the season against Central Arkansas on Friday, August 19 at a neutral site in Fort Smith, Ark.

Oklahoma returns to McCasland Field House and welcomes a trio of teams to Norman for its only home tournament of the season. The Sooners host Gonzaga (Friday August 26), Iowa (Saturday August 27) and FIU (Sunday August 28).

OU continues its non-conference roster with a tournament in Nashville, Tennessee. Oklahoma opens the tournament against Ball State on Friday, September 2 and concludes the event with a pair of games against Mississippi State and host Lipscomb on Saturday, September 3.

The Sooners continue their journey with three games in Santa Clara, Calif., and open the tournament against Fresno State on Friday, September 9. Oklahoma is scheduled to take on Tulane on Saturday, September 10 and tournament host Santa Clara on Sunday, September 11. .

OU travels to Abilene, Texas to take on Abilene Christian on Tuesday, Sept. 13 in its final non-conference road game of the season.

The Sooners wrap up their non-conference slate with a pair of home games against Texas Southern and Nevada on Friday, September 16.

“That’s a theme for our program; playing deep in December while striving to be the first to win a championship,” Gray-Walton said. “What we learned from last season is that every game counts. We had a good off-season, had great leadership and a hunger to win. The recipe for success is there. From the very first game of the year until this final at home, it will take the sum of our parts to see our name rise on Sunday of the selection. This group has the relentless pursuit of the challenge which awaits it.

Oklahoma opens the 16-game Big 12 slate in Austin, Texas against the Longhorns on Saturday, Sept. 24. The Sooners host Kansas on Wednesday, September 28 for their Big 12 home opener.

Start times and TV information will be added to the SoonerSports.com programming page as it becomes available.

Season ticket deposits for the 2022 season are $25 and can be deposited here.

Calendar 2022


































Date Opponent the(Location)
Saturday August 13 Crimson and Cream (EXH)
Friday August 19 vs. Central Arkansas (Fort Smith, Arkansas | EXH)
Friday August 26 Gonzaga (Norman)
Saturday August 27 Iowa (Norman)
Sunday August 28 CRF (Norman)
Friday, September 2 vs. Ball State (Nashville, TN)
Saturday September 3 vs. Mississippi State (Nashville, Tennessee)
Saturday September 3 in Lipscomb (Nashville, Tennessee)
Friday, September 9 vs. Fresno State (Santa Clara, CA)
Saturday September 10 vs. Tulane (Santa Clara, CA)
Sunday September 11 in Santa Clara (Santa Clara, CA)
Tuesday September 13 at Abilene Christian (Abilene, TX)
Friday September 16 South Texas (Norman)
Friday September 16 Nevada (Norman)
Saturday September 24 in Texas (Austin, Texas)
Wednesday, September 28 Kansas (Norman)
Saturday October 1 West Virginia (Norman)
Wednesday, October 5 in Baylor (Waco, TX)
Wednesday October 12 at Texas Tech (Lubbock, TX)
Saturday October 15 State of Iowa (Norman)
Wednesday October 19 Kansas State (Norman)
Friday October 21 at TCU (Fort Worth, TX)
Wednesday October 26 Baylor (Norman)
Saturday October 29 in Kansas (Lawrence, Kan.)
Saturday November 5 in West Virginia (Morgantown, W.Va.)
Wednesday, November 9 Texas Tech (Norman)
Saturday November 12 Texas (Norman)
Wednesday, November 16 at Kansas State (Manhattan, Kan.)
Wednesday, November 23 at Iowa State (Ames, Iowa)
Saturday November 26 TCU (Norman)


Source link