GENEVA, Ill. – Edgewood College’s cross country programs are geared up for Saturday’s 2022 NACC Championships, hosted by Aurora University. The Eagles women’s team is aiming to get back to the front of the pack and claim the NACC crown, while the men’s team is looking for a strong finish after losing a two-time champion in Lucas Caminiti. prepares you for Saturday’s races at Northwestern Medicine XC Course in Geneva, Illinois. The women’s race will start at 11 a.m. followed by the men’s race at noon. The award ceremony is scheduled for 1 p.m.

– NACC Cross Country Championships
– Saturday October 29
– Geneva, Illinois (Northwestern Medicine XC course)
– 11 a.m. (Women’s race); Noon (men’s race)
– Live results

The Eagles women’s cross country team is aiming to return to the top step of the podium and win its fifth NACC championship in six years. Previously, Edgewood College had won three consecutive NACC championships (2018, 2019, 2020), but were defeated by St. Norbert College in 2021 – their first year competing in the NACC.

Edgewood College will be challenged this weekend with St. Norbert looking for a second straight crown and Aurora as another major threat. Edgewood College ran against Aurora at the Rockford Rock River Invite on Sept. 1. The Eagles did not record a team score in the encounter, while Aurora took the win.

Rachel Ehrhart and Ally Verbauwhede led the Eagles all season. Ehrhart clocked a personal best under 22 minutes during the white race Bradley Pink Classic on October 14. Verbauwhede posted a PR time of 22:05.4 in the red race at Bradley.

Verbauwhede finished fifth at last year’s event and is one of three returning Eagles who earned All-NACC honors last year. Rachel Ehrhart finished eighth in the race, while Irene Ehrhart finished 11th. Rachel Ehrhart is a three-time All-NACC runner.

Irene Ehrhart, white ivyand Mandy Giese should also be part of the goalscoring training. White is coming out of a PR performance two weeks ago.

Caroline Evers has posted a PR every game this season for the Eagles, while Hadley Hackinson, Samantha Roemer, Anna Gillesand Samantha Henry complete the range.

Four Eagles recorded PR for their latest outing at the Wisconsin Private College Championships. Brett Cox ran a 28:19.1, Tyler Muller (29:02.1) and Sebastian Kams-Bingham (31:33.3). Quinton Gordon (43:06.7) had the other PR for Edgewood College. Craig Seger did not finish far behind Cox, with a time of 28:20.1. Blaine Springer (28:59.9) and Zach Heckman (31:38.0) also ran two weeks ago and completes the Eagles roster.

MSOE won the 2021 championship with 40 points, finishing 13 points ahead of second-placed St. Norbert College. Last season, Lucas Caminiti joined Josh Williams (2011 and 2012), Micha Lorenzen of Concordia Wisconsin (2006 and 2007) and Andy Ashenden of Concordia Wisconsin (2009 and 2010) as two-time winners.

Stay tuned to and the Eagles social media platforms for updates on the 2022 NACC Cross Country Championships.