FOREST, Va. — The University of Washington and Lee football team has won 10 Old Dominion Athletic Conference postseason awards, including two major awards, for the first time since 2017, as announced by the conference. Tuesday afternoon.

A total of 68 conference players appeared on the rosters and eight generals were honored, headlined by Defensive Player of the Year Lou Wacker, David Onyejekwe (Falls Church, Va./McLean) and ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Robert Poindexter (Atlanta, Ga./Lovett).

Onyejekwe, a senior from Falls Church, Va., is now a two-time All-ODAC first-team winner. Onyejekwe was an ever-present force for Washington and Lee’s defense as he finished with 72 total tackles, seventh-best in the conference. That included 33 solo saves and 4.0 tackles for a loss that cost opponents nine yards of offense. He interrupted three passes in total and had one interception. Onyejekwe posted three games of 11 or more tackles, including a career-high 12 saves in a season-ending loss (13-6) at Bridgewater.

Onyejekwe is joined by an offensive lineman Tyler Hallidy (Virginia Beach, Virginia/Tallwood) and Logan Moyer (Germantown, Md. / Quince Orchard) in the first team. Both seniors, Moyer and Onyejekwe receive first-team honors for the second straight season and the honor marks the first for junior Halliday.

Halliday and Moyer helped lead the way in the Generals’ rushing game that posted 2,840 yards this season on 574 attempts (4.8 ypc), 273.3 yards per game and 30 rushing touchdowns. W&L quarterback Hall has only been fired once all season.

Poindexter, a senior from Atlanta, Georgia, plays both on and off the court for Washington and Lee. In class, Poindexter majors in economics with a minor in math. The 2021 and 2022 CoSIDA Academic All-District winner is a three-time member of the ODAC All-Academic Team and a six-time W&L Scholar-Athlete. The President’s List winner is a member of the Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society and a group leader for the Williams Investment Group, which manages part of W&L’s endowment. He completed an internship at a private equity firm as well as at Truist Financial.

A two-time team captain, Poindexter combines the scholar-athlete honor with a second-team All-ODAC selection this year following a first-team selection in 2021. He has recorded 39 total tackles with 14 saves alone. He posted 6.0 tackles for a loss that cost opponents 23 yards. This included 3.0 bags for 15 yards. Poindexter also forced a fumble and interrupted two passes.

Second-year linebacker Uno Christopher (Fredericksburg, Va./Massaponax) and junior defensive back Ronny Williams (Douglasville, Ga./Holy Innocents’ Episcopal) join Poindexter with the All-ODAC second-team Laurels on defensive end of the ball.

Christopher had 27 tackles, including 8.5 tackles for loss to fend off the opposing offense 23 yards and 1.5 sacks for six yards in addition to a pass breakup and a fumble recovery. Williams has been a ball hawk all year and interrupted four passes, grabbed an interception and forced a fumble. Over the 10 games, he averaged 3.7 tackles per game with 18 solo tackles and 19 assisted tackles.

All-purpose back Alex Wertz (Sterling, Virginia/Dominion) and senior defensive lineman Mustafa Alkhatib (Lawrenceville, Ga./Discovery) won the All-ODAC Third Team Overall Selections.

A fifth-year runner, Wertz led the offense with a team-best 719 yards on 140 attempts in eight games this year and scored eight touchdowns. He’s averaging 5.1 YPC and just under 90 yards per contest. In the air, he added seven catches for 49 yards.

Alkhatib filled the middle of the defensive line with 12 total tackles, one pass defended and one fumble recovery. The defense limited opponents to just 14.4 points and 297.6 total rushing yards per game thanks to Alkhatib’s ability to cut the pocket.

Max Garrett ’18 was the last player to win major accolades for the Generals football program, winning both Defensive Player of the Year and College Athlete of the Year in 2017.


J. Stokeley Fulton Offensive Player of the Year: Drew Campanale, Jr., QB, Randolph-Macon

Lou Wacker Defensive Player of the Year: David OnyejekweSr., LB, Washington and Lee

ODAC Coach of the Year: Pedro Arruza, Randolph Macon

ODAC Rookie of the Year: Mason Cunningham, Fy., APB, Hampden-Sydney

ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Insurance Athlete Scholar: Robert PoindexterSr., DL, Washington and Lee


Drew Campanale Jr.QB Randolph-Macon
Melik Frost Jr. RB Hampden-Sydney
Nick Hale Sr. RB Randolph-Macon
Rashadeen Byrd, Jr. ^ Gr. RB Shenandoah
Andrew Ihle Sr APB Randolph-Macon
Tre Alexander^ Sr. WR Guilford
David Wallis+ Sr. WR Randolph-Macon
David Byler Sr. TE Hampden-Sydney
T.J. Minter* Jr. OL Hampden-Sydney
Will Jackson* Sr. OL Randolph-Macon
Nehemiah Nixon^ Sr. OL Randolph-Macon
Tyler Hallidy Jr. OL Washington and Lee

Logan Moyer* Sr. OL Washington and Lee

Jackson Hendren^ So. K Bridgewater


Johnathan Terrell Sr. DL Averett
Tucker Harris So. DL Bridgewater
Wade Grubbs So. DL Randolph Macon
Mason Caldwell* Sr. DL Shenandoah
Shawn Harris Sr LB Bridgewater
Jackson Deaver Jr. LB Randolph-Macon
Ben Burgan^ Sr LB Shenandoah
David Onyejekwe* Sr LB Washington and Lee
Aaron Moore Jr. DB Bridgewater
Will Pickren* Jr. DB Hampden-Sydney
Cade Jones Sr DB Randolph-Macon
Keyshawn Wilder Jr. DB Shenandoah
Garrett Graves* Sr P Bridgewater


Tanner Bernard* Sr QB Hampden-Sydney
Kwesi Clarke Jr. RB Randolph-Macon
Mason Cunningham Fy. APB Hampden-Sydney
Austin Fernandez So. WR Hampden-Sydney
Ethan Bigbee Sr. WR Shenandoah
Carter Runyon+ So. TE Shenandoah
Matthew Isom Jr. OL Averett
Glory Nseka So… OL Bridgewater
Matt Hale^ Sr. OL Randolph-Macon
Dominique Gulli Jr. OL Shenandoah
David Munoz^ Jr. OL Shenandoah
Scott Martin So. K Shenandoah


Michael Harris^ Sr. DL Hampden-Sydney
Jacob Hutchinson^ Sr. DL Randolph-Macon
Ethan Brown Jr. DL Shenandoah
Robert Poindexter* Sr. DL Washington and Lee
Lamar Horner So. LB Averette
Aaron Nice Fy. LB Bridgewater
Erik Harris+ Sr LB Randolph-Macon
Uno Christopher So. LB Washington and Lee
Smith Plane Jr. DB Ferrum
Adam Lacy Sr DB Guilford
James Ryan Salvi Jr. DB Hampden-Sydney
Ronny Williams Jr. DB Washington and Lee
Mason Smith Jr.P Averett


steven hugney So. QB Shenandoah
Monzelle Campbell So. APB-Ferrum
Alex Wertz ^ Sr. APB Washington and Lee
Viante Tucker Sr. WR Bridgewater
Eric Mays Sr. WR Guilford
Joey Chase Sr. WR Randolph-Macon
Ricky Mayfield+ Sr. TE Randolph-Macon
Storm James Jr. OL Randolph-Macon


T.J. James Sr. DL Randolph-Macon
Jordan Rice+ Gr. DL Shenandoah
Mustafa Alkhatib + Sr. DL Washington and Lee
Nick Iannone Fy. LB Guilford
Matt Conroy Fy. LB Shenandoah
Isaiah Sharper Sr DB Averett
Val West+ Jr. DB Bridgewater
Quante Redd Jr. DB Shenandoah

About The Author

Related Posts