Seven football players and four head coaches from the Northwestern Houston area will be recognized at the 42nd Annual Touchdown Club of Houston UIL High School Awards Dinner on December 8 at 7 p.m. at the Bayou City Event Center.

Bridgeland senior quarterback Conner Weigman, Cypress Park senior running back Harold Perkins, Spring senior quarterback Bishop Davenport and Klein senior wide receiver Cain Matthew Golden were five of 12 players nominated for the award. offensive player of the year.

Westfield senior defensive lineman AJ Holmes and senior defensive lineman Klein Cain were two of 12 players nominated for the defensive player of the year award.

Kevin Flanigan of Tomball High, Matt Meekins of Westfield, David Raffield of Bridgeland and David Snokhous of Jersey Village were four of 12 coaches nominated for the Coach of the Year award.

Offensive player of the year finalists

Kendrick Bradley, Klein Forest; Bishop Davenport, Spring; Matt Golden, Klein Cain; Harold Perkins, Cypress Park; Conner Weigman, Bridgeland; Kelvin Banks, Summer Creek; Kameron Dewberry, Atascocita; Caleb Douglas, Hightower; Bert Emanuel Jr., Ridge Point; Donovan Green, Dickinson; Josh McMillan, Tompkins; and Noah Thomas, Clear Springs.

Defensive Player of the Year Finalists

AJ Holmes, Westfield; Lukia Rawls, Klein Cain; Keewan Grismore, Clear Falls; Mason Hall, Ridge Point; Martrell Harris, The Woods; Julian Humphrey, Clear Lake; Ty Kana, Katy; Dejuan Lewis, Shadow Creek; Fordham Parks, Cinco Ranch; Xavier Potts, Manvel; Kris Ross, North Shore; and Kentrell Webb, Paetow.

Coach of the Year finalists

Kevin Flanigan, Tomball; Matt Meekins, Westfield; David Raffield, Bridgeland; David Snokhous, Jersey Village; Cornelius Anthony, Hightower; Derek Fitzhenry, CE King; BJ Gotte, Paetow; Kenny Harrison, Summer Creek; Rick LaFavers, Ridge Point; Todd McVey, Tompkins; Jerry Prieto, Crosby; and Craig Stump, Atascocita.

Private schools

In private high school awards, Kinkaid’s Dillon Bell was named offensive player of the year, Everett Skillern of Second Baptist was named defensive player of the year, Beau Edwards of Episcopal was named lineman of the Year, Kinkaid’s Cameron Henry was named Ironman of the Year, and Lutheran South’s Nick Hatch was named Specialist of the Year.

Cypress Christian’s Kris Hogan and John Cooper’s Erik DeHaven were named Co-Coach of the Year.

Offensive player of the year finalists

Zamari Bruce, Catholic Frassati; Dillon Bell, Kinkaid; Alex Gottsegen, Kinkaid; Joel Hutchins, Lutheran from the South; Grayson Kim, Second Baptist; John Perdue, St. John’s; Cameron Price, St. Thomas; Eli Smith, Second Baptist; and Jake Wright, Saint-Thomas.

Defensive Player of the Year Finalists

Griffin Fisk, Cypress Christian; Blaine Baird, Christian Fort Bend; Cade Goldstraw, Lutheran from the South; Carson Hintz, Saint Pius X; Alex Lassoued, Kinkaid; Blake Pitts, John Cooper School; Everett Skillern, Second Baptist; and Tegan Spencer, St. Thomas.

Lineman of the Year Finalists

Jacob Moran, Cypress Christian; Reid Cordell, Second Baptist; Beau Edwards, Episcopal; Michael Fite, Saint Pius X; Cailen Graham, Episcopal; Wyatt Green, St. Thomas; Stefan Gustafson, St. John’s; Duncan McLaren, St. John’s; Michael Skaribas, St. John’s; and Patrick Wallace, Saint-Thomas.

Ironman of the Year Finalists

Tate Elder, Concordia Lutheran; Jacob Swan, Cypress Christian; Burke Battenfield, Saint Pius X; Colin Hedges, Second Baptist; Cameron Henry, Kinkaid; Smith Nave, Bay Area Christian; Tyler Prazak, Legacy Coach; and Gamble Reed, John Cooper School.

Special teams player of the year finalists

Adam Atwell, Bay Area Christian; and Nick Hatch, Lutheran from the South.

Coach of the Year finalists

Kris Hogan, Cypress Christian; Jordan Black, Fort Bend Christian; Erik DeHaven, John Cooper School; Nathan Larned, Kinkaid; Les Raineys, Bay Area Christian; and Kevin Veltri, of St. John’s.

Cy-Hoops on the bridge

Completed support for the 12th Annual Houston Methodist Cy-Hoops Invitational was unveiled by Cy-Fair ISD coaches a week ahead of the December 9-11 event held at various venues.

There are 22 teams participating in the three-day tournament which will be played at Cy-Fair High, Cypress Falls, Cypress Park and the Berry Center. Each team must play three games.

The 12 high school college basketball teams from Cy-Fair ISD, Cy-Fair, Bridgeland, Cypress Springs, Cypress Falls, Cypress Ranch, Cypress Park, Cypress Lakes, Jersey Village, Langham Creek, Bridgeland, Cypress Ridge and Cypress Creek , will participate in The tournament.

They will be joined by 10 other programs like McKinney, Mansfield Summit, South Grand Prairie, Alvin Shadow Creek and Humble Summer Creek who are all ranked in their respective Texas Association of Basketball Coaches polls entering the 2021-2022 season.

Day 1 will feature 11 games, including Bridgeland vs Mansfield Summit at Cypress Park Gym 1, Cypress Lakes vs Dickinson at Cy-Fair Gym 2, Cypress Ranch vs Jersey Village at Cypress Falls 2 Gym, Cypress Woods vs Summer Creek at Cypress Falls gym 1 and McKinney vs Klein at Cy-Fair gym 1 at 5 p.m.

There are five games at 6:30 p.m. including Cy-Fair vs. Langham Creek at Cy-Fair 1 Gym, Cypress Creek vs. Cypress Springs at Cypress Falls Gym 2, Cypress Falls vs. Spring High at Cypress Falls Gym 1, Cypress Ridge vs. South Grand Prairie at Cy-Fair 2 Gym and Shadow Creek vs. Dekaney at Cypress Park 1 Gym.

Cypress Park will also face Harker Heights at Cypress Park Gym 1 at 8 p.m. ET. All teams will play all day Friday.

The semi-finals are scheduled for 10 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. on December 12 at the Berry Center. The Championship game will be played later today at 5:30 p.m. at the Berry Center.

The bracket is accessible via the Cy-Hoops page of the Berry Center website.

[email protected]

Source link