University of South Carolina Associate Head Coach/Special Teams Coordinator Pete Lembo is one of 15 semi-finalists for the 2022 Broyles Award, which honors the top assistant coach in college football, the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced today.

Lembo, in his second season with the Gamecocks, has his units ranked first in ESPN’s Special Teams Effectiveness. The Gamecocks are among the best in the nation in blocked punts (school record T2nd 5), blocked kicks (T2nd-6), punt returns (2nd-18.70), kick returns (2nd-18.70), kickoff (4th-25.47), net punts (9th-42.47), punt return defense (12th-3.00) and kickoff return defense (13th-16.65 ).

Individually, bettor Kai Kroeger is averaging 45.8 yards per punt this season, 10th in the nation and is one of 10 semi-finalists for the Ray Guy Award; placekicker Mitch Throw is a perfect 9 for 9 in field goal attempts; kick returner Xavier Legette is averaging 31.5 yards per return, including a 100-yard touchdown return against Texas A&M; and kick returner Josh Vann is averaging 15.1 yards per return.

A 43-member selection committee comprised of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters and a committee representing the FWAA will select five finalists from the list of nominees and one overall winner.

The 2021 Broyles Prize winner was Josh Gattis, who was the offensive coordinator for the University of Michigan. Gattis is now the offensive coordinator for the University of Miami. Previous winners are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award until all three seasons are complete.

Proceeds from the 2022 Broyles Prize support the Broyles Foundation’s mission to provide a game plan for caregivers of Alzheimer’s disease through education, support and resources. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Florida State – Alex Atkins, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Georgia – Todd Monken, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Illinois – Ryan Walters, defensive coordinator
Iowa – Phil Parker, defensive coordinator/defensive backs
Louisiana State University – Matt House, defensive coordinator
Michigan – Jesse Minter, defensive coordinator
North Carolina – Phil Longo, Offensive/Quarterbacks Coordinator
Ohio State – Jim Knowles, defensive coordinator/linebackers
Oregon – Kenny Dillingham, offensive coordinator
Penn State – Manny Diaz, defensive coordinator/linebackers
South Carolina – Pete Lembo, Assistant Head Coach/Special Teams
Tennessee – Alex Golesh, Offensive Coordinator/Tight Ends
Texas Christian University – Garrett Riley, offensive coordinator/quarterbacks
University of Southern California – Shaun Nua, defensive line
Washington – Ryan Grubb, Offensive/Quarterbacks Coordinator

Source link

About The Author

Related Posts