The government has asked 32 private universities to acquire a charter or have their operational licenses revoked.

A charter status is the highest license from the regulator of universities, granted only by the head of state.

The executive director of the National Council for Higher Education (NCHE), Professor Mary Okwakol, said around 32 private universities would be affected.

Prof Okwakol said that of the 43 private universities in Uganda, only 11 have charter status.

According to Professor Okwakol, universities are required to acquire a provisional license for at least three years before being approved.

“The Solicitor General has advised that it should be three years and, following these guidelines, we have written to all universities that are provisionally authorized and given them a deadline to submit their application for the granting of a charter. “, she said.

“If they do not comply, the council will take appropriate action. [action]’, she warned.

Professor Okwakol gave the directive during a charter ceremony at the University of Victoria held at the NCHE offices in Kampala on August 19.

Currently, Uganda has over 60 universities. While eight of them are public universities run by the government, more than 40 are private, military, and others belong to the category of degree-granting institutions.

Professor Okwakol warned that those relying on provisional licenses must obtain a charter within a year.

Victoria University now becomes the 11th private chartered university in Uganda, according to NCHE records.

The others are Uganda Christian University, Uganda Martyrs University, Nkumba University, Kampala International University, Ndejje University, Bugema University, Bishop Stuart University , Kampala University, African Bible University and International Trade Science and Technology University (ISBAT).

However, a list obtained from the NCHE indicates that several private universities do not have charters. These include Kumi University, Uganda Pentecostal University, St Lawrence University, Royal University Muteesa 1, Uganda University of Technology and Management (Utamu), Africa Renewal University, University of Ibanda, University of Kisubi, Valley University of Science and Technology, Team University, Avance International. University and Limkokwing University of Creative Technology, among others.

Most universities said they were in the process of applying for a charter.

Advance University Administrator Mr Dan Lugoloobi said, “We will apply when we have all the prerequisites within the next three years.

Mr. Alex Mukama, an administrator of Utamu in Kampala, said, “We were asked for certain requirements and we have not submitted the application yet.”

University of Ibanda Deputy Academic Registrar Ms Florence Ekit said: “Our team is working on the requirements. Kumi University said, “We have submitted our application and expect the NCHE team here soon.”

Source link